Google+

Y-Love coming out of the closet

Leave a comment

May 17, 2012 by Benji


I met Yitz Jordan AKA Y-Love in 2000 in Jerusalem at Ohr Sameach, a Yeshiva where we were both studying. At the time, I found his love for Judaism to be inspiring and I am happy to see that he’s still acting as an inspiration to many today.

When I met him, I couldn’t figure out why someone would willingly choose to become a member of the religion that so often had me frustrated. He didn’t feel the same way as me though. He loved it; Judaism spoke to him and is his truth.

This week Yitz again spoke his truth to the world. He came out of the closet in a very public way. He told Out.com “I’m ready to find a husband, I’m ready to live without fear of being outed or the stress of keeping my whole self from people. And I’ve waited too long to do
that.”

Unfortunately we live in a world where being true to one’s self can have negative repercussions. There are no doubt people who are going speak out against him, people who may say his conversion is no longer valid,  it’s impossible to imagine what else people might say.

I believe that the love and support that Yitz will get will far outweigh the negative. I hope everyone remembers while labeling him “The Black, Gay, Convert, Ex Hassid, Hip Hip/ Rapper” that he is a human created in the image of God just like you and me.

Isn’t that a simpler label?

I wish him the best in the next chapter in his life

Here is the Out.com article

The CNN Entertainment article

And a great video by Source Feed.

and his new video just released

Leave a Reply

