Google+

Gabby Douglas – A father’s perspective – Keep doing what you are doing

2

August 8, 2012 by Benji


As my wife and I watched the young ladies of the USA Olympic team win the gold medal, we jokingly asked each other “How old do you think Na’amah (our daughter) has to be before she can start Gymnastics lessons and be just like those girls”? We, like the ambitious parents of girls all over the country were hoping that our daughter would one day make world history too.

Shortly after watching the competition I read an article about the ridiculous bickering surrounding Gabby Douglas’s hair, people calling it “Not Kept” and “needs some gel and a brush“ among other comments. Then came her fantastic response as quoted in Huffington Post “I don’t know where this is coming from. What’s wrong with my hair?” said Douglas, the first U.S. gymnast to win gold in team and all-around competition. “I’m like, `I just made history and people are focused on my hair?’ It can be bald or short, it doesn’t matter about (my) hair.”

I was humbly reminded that the priorities that I am obligated to instill in my daughters have nothing to do with gold medals and Olympic teams. I should be teaching them to be a strong woman with a high self worth, who can stand up to the ignorance of others and let them know that you don’t need others approval to excel. Gabby Douglas is a role model for my daughters not because of the medals around her neck, or her ranking in the world. She is a role model for my daughters because she handles herself with grace, humility and a confidence. I hope she has a wonderful and long career coming up, and I hope she continues to be an actual role model for my daughters.

ps. Thanks Gabby for the thumbs up photo opp! I LOVE it!!!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Gabby Douglas – A father’s perspective – Keep doing what you are doing

  1. Beverly Furer says:

    You are a great dad Benji.

  2. […] married and having children really did change my perspective on life. I noticed it when I posted  Gabriela Burns, I felt like a dad wanting his daughter to be empowered rather than a jerk with a computer enjoying […]

Leave a Reply

Why You Jam on Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 57 other followers

