Google+

The 3 biggest things that Jerry Garcia taught me

2

August 10, 2012 by Benji


Like most deadheads today I thought about Jerry a lot. The truth is its been 2 weeks of “missing Jerry posts” on Facebook and Twitter because of the proximity of his birthday and the anniversary of his death. So it wasn’t hard for me to think about him. Being in a particular mode in carrier, where I am doing a lot of personal growth, I have been trying to think about what Jerry taught me, and. How has he inspired to be the best version of me.

3 things came up for me:

1) Jerry is quoted saying “You do not merely want to be considered just the best of the best. You want to be considered the only ones who do what you do.”
Jerry is so right it’s scary! When I look at the things that are important to me, I don’t want to be excellent, I want to be in a different league

2) you don’t need to play a lot of notes to make excellent music. Listen to songs like terrapin station and it’s overwhelming to think about writing a song with so much movement. So many of Jerry’s songs are full of complex chord changes or solos that are full of explosive notes. But so much of Jerry’s brilliance came in executing simple songs perfectly. Three chord, Blues numbers played well, simple songs played perfectly are tear-jerkers.

3) Surround yourself with the best possible group of people, who compliment your strengths and you will shine brighter than you could have on your own.

Now all I need to do is apply this to my life and there is nothing left to do but smile smile smile.

2 thoughts on “The 3 biggest things that Jerry Garcia taught me

  1. Beverly Furer says:

    Very true, differentiating yourself is what it’s about. But stop doubting yourself Benji, you have the magic.

Leave a Reply

Why You Jam on Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 57 other followers

