Google+

A High Five for Up To –

1

August 16, 2012 by Benji


As Printed in the Detroit Jewish News August 16 • 2012 41 http://www.TheJewishNews.com

UpTo, a calendar-sharing iPhone app with its home based in the M@dison building here in Detroit, has been and will continue to get impressive media attention. With recent write-ups in TechCrunch, Mashable, CNN, CNBC, CBS, the Detroit Free Press and the JN, it has begun to make a dent in the crowded “geo-location /check-in” world. But this is not a geo-location app.

Unlike those apps, which state your location and/or event while you are there at the moment, UpTo allows you to share calendar events that you want made public to your network in advance. It’s a great way to let people know about and invite friends to upcoming nonprofit events, networking, concerts, etc. The app takes a proactive approach and gives your network time to decide if they want “in” on your fun.

A few weeks ago, I downloaded the app. Like most social apps today, it asked me if I wanted to invite friends from Facebook and/or my address book. I tried to do both. But every time I tried, the program would freeze. I even deleted the app and re-installed it on my phone a few times, but it still didn’t work. Disappointed, I did what a lot of social media users do. I tweeted “R u using the #upto app? Ive installed & uninstalled it twice & it keeps freezing & not loading my contacts … Anyone troubleshoot this yet?”

Almost immediately, UpTo responded, letting me know that they knew about the issue and were working on it. They then reached out to me to let me know once the issue was fixed. This excited me on a few levels. In today’s market, social interaction with consumers is critical, yet too many companies pretend not to notice what people are saying about them.

I once tweeted multiple times, followed by a Facebook post, to Babies R Us about a concern I had, and got no response. As a father with two young kids, Babies R Us should at least have acknowledged my comments. UpTo’s immediate response showed me that they care what their users are saying and are actively looking for resolutions.

They owned up to (pun intended) the issue and offered a solution. No one likes BS
excuses. They could have asked me if my phone was working or if it had the latest software, but they owned the problem.

I often tell new clients, “You won’t always like what I have to tell you, but it will always be the truth.” I was happy to get UpTo’s initial response and even happier to get the secondary responses.

 

This company is Detroit: It’s inventive, it’s a new spin on an existing system, and it’s fresh.

If UpTo continues using social media to interact with their users this way, I’m confident that the team will be successful with this app and the apps they will build in the future.

If you are using UpTo, I would love to hear your thoughts on the program, reach out to me via twitter @benrosenzweig or via my blog, http://www.BenjiUnSpun.com.

As Printed in the Detroit Jewish News August 16 • 2012 41 http://www.TheJewishNews.com
Below is a PDF of the article 

DetroitJewishNews

One thought on “A High Five for Up To –

  1. […] more at Benji’s Wold of Projects A High Five for Up To – | Benji’s World of Projects. Filed Under: Featured, In The News, Links, Reviews Tagged With: […]

Leave a Reply

