Google+

Is the next big award ceremony in Detroit going to be The BeanieS ?

Leave a comment

January 6, 2013 by Benji


if you read my blog on any sort of frequency, you know that I am a big fan of Terry Bean. He is a avid fan of Networking, Contentedness and Detroit.

Terry started the hashtag #313DLove and continues to think and implement ways to improve the metro area.

He recently blogged about starting an annual award called The Beanies. Im not sure if he is going to do it or not, It would be fun, but regardless, I am honored to be in the freshman list. See the blog below.

beaniep

 

2012 Facebook Favorites Award…soon to be known as “The Beanies”

I was scrolling through Facebook last night while the Cowboys/Redskins game was on and it hit me…Since there are certain people who just brighten my day on a regular basis, I should create a pseudo award and let them know. Yeah, EVERYone loves pseudo awards.

trust me…I’m winking

Well, without further adieu, here they are.

FAVORITE COUPLE– By far, my favorite couple are two crazy kids from High School who started dating, got engaged and eventually married in the past 3 years. Their courtship on Facebook was so cute and they look like they have the best time. Congratulations Mr. and Mrs. Parker.

Favorite Foodie-Some people love food, but don’t get to travel much. Others love food, but don’t really have the budget required to sustain the high end side of the habit. Then there are those special people who Eat fantastically while traveling around the globe. This award easily goes to my brother Cary Bean who has a facebook timeline that would make Woflgang Puck Salivate.

Favorite Fun Pundit (can I call them a Fundit)?- I suppose it would be hard not to win this when sports and nights out are your corporate mission. But this award is more than about what she does, it’s about how she does. Stephanie Puertas (and Erin Goryl) do a GREAT job of sharing their message about the leagues and fun nights out Stay and Play Social Club offers. Way to keep it classy ladies!!

Favorite Social Movement– No, not that kind of movement…no one wants that to be social. A great movement was put together a few years ago called Pay it Forward Friday!. Now whether Mr. Hire it DoneAdam Helfman, conceived this or is just who I associate with it is in question. Regardless, I love the idea of doing something great for someone else. And if you can only do that on Friday, then that’s a great start!!!

Favorite Touching Note- I’m not even sure this came from Facebook, but I’m gonna give a shout out to Keith Zendler of Peoplemovers for a very honest, open and candid letter he sent out to his people in the past month. It was super human of you Keith!

Biggest sense of pride- I’m not sure if it’s kosher to take so much pride in something someone else did but I can’t describe how I felt about Benji Rosenzweig’s work withMenorah in the D. any other way. I’m a huge fan of yours, Benji. Excellent work, sir!!

Best use of Video AND Christmas Carols- I love the idea that Ray Laethem Motor Village had to use the 12 Days of Christmas to provide special value to their customers. On the 12th day a customer could get a $500 gift card if they bought a new car. On the first day it was more like a free car wash. All is good though!!

Best return to Facebook- There was a hole in my facebook when Keith Stonehouse left. That hole has been filled. This guy has done a wonderful job of showing us how we can use Facebook with respect and to make money and I LOVE that lesson!

Most consistent marketer- My mom taught me “if you can’t say anything nice…” well I can. say something nice. Rick Pink‘s messages annoy the crap out of me because the odds of me going to one of his events are so very, very slim and yet, I think he does a great job of having a consistent message. See? That was nice. Sort of ;-) In all seriousness Rick is a great guy (from what I can tell) and I am sure I could have unsubscribed a long time ago.

Least beneficial topic to discuss- 2012 was one of those years where you can easily piss off 49% of your friends with one simple fact: Your political affiliation. I prefer to pick sides based on issues, not parties or people. As such, you will rarely see me make statements about who or which side is better. Mostly because neither are. But, we are all entitled to our own opinion…regardless of how wrong we may be. LOL

Be Like Mike in 2013- I’ve been connected to Michael Angelo Caruso since we first met in January, 2009. I love how he provides relevant information through his newsletters and gets to speak all over the country and planet. I intend to do more things like Mike (his digital and speaking stuff)  in 2013. Thanks for laying out the path my man!!

What were some of your facebook moments in 2012? Share them in the comments, please!

Leave a Reply

Why You Jam on Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 57 other followers

