Google+

30 quotes to live by

26

May 3, 2012 by Benji


Another installment in the Turning 30 blog posts, (30 albums that changed my life and my bucket list) here is a list of 30 quotes that I try to live by. A few of these I have heard in person, but most are famous quotes. As before, these are not in order of importance, its in alphabetical order. I’d love to hear from you what your quotes are.

1)      “If faith without works is dead; then willingness without action is fantasy “Anonymous

2)       “Equality implies individuality” Trey Anastasio

3)      “If you have a problem with “the god thing” work the 12 steps and you will be contacted shortly” Marcus Barnett ( he said that to me personally)

4)       “It’s not what you know, who you know, or who knows you… it’s HOW you’re known” Terry Bean ( he said that to me personally)

5) “These are the three ways in which one can find out the true character of another person: how he behaves with his wallet, what he says when he’s angry or when he’s drunk!” Chazal

6) “I’d rather be hated for who I am, than loved for who I am not” Kurt Cobain

7) “The main thing is to keep the main thing, the main thing” Stephen R. Covey

8)  “When patters are broken new worlds will emerge” Barry Demp  (He said that to me     personally)

9)   “Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work”
Thomas E. Edison

10)   “If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough” Albert Einstein

11)  “It’s better to regret something you did than something you didn’t do” Flea (Red Hot Chili Peppers)

12)   “Constantly choosing the lesser of two evils is still choosing evil” Jerry Garcia

13)    “Be the change you would like to see in the world” Ghandi

14)   “Knowledge Talks, Wisdom Listens” Jimi Hendrix

15)   “Success has many fathers, but Failure is a lonely Orphan” JFK

16)   “When the tide rises, all the ships raise together “JFK

17)   “When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.” John Lennon

18)   “You will not get anywhere in life if you don’t interrupt things” Florine Mark (she said that to me personally)

19)   “I must govern the clock, not be governed by it” Golda Meir

20)   “My first name, Benjamin, dates back a thousand years earlier to Benjamin – Binyamin – the son of Jacob, who was also known as Israel. Jacob and his 12 sons roamed these same hills of Judea and Sumeria 4,000 years ago, and there’s been a continuous Jewish presence in the land ever since”
Benjamin Netanyahu

21)   “I am always doing that which I cannot do, in order that I may learn how to do it”
Picasso

22)   “It takes a smart man to earn a fortune and a brilliant man to keep one” Rockefeller

23)   “It doesn’t matter what you do when you grow up, as long as you do it like a Mentch” Jacob Rosenzweig (he said that to me many times when I was growing up)

24)   “You can’t teach a kid to ride a bike at a seminar” David Sandler

25)    “If you were born on 3rd base, no one knows if you can swing a bat” Howard Schwartz

26)   “There is a principle which is a bar against all information, which is proof against all arguments, and which cannot fail to keep a man in everlasting ignorance—that principle is contempt prior to investigation” Herbert Spencer

27)   “Sometimes an iron fist covered with a velvet glove is the most affect mode of communication” Steve Szajna

28)   “If you’re going to be crazy, you have to get paid for it or else you’re going to be locked up” Hunter S. Thompson

29)   “Call on God, but row away from the rocks” Hunter S. Thompson

“It’s tangible, it’s solid, it’s beautiful, it’s artistic, from my standpoint and I just love real estate” Donald Trump

26 thoughts on “30 quotes to live by

  1. dreamlifemoments says:

    Every quote meant somthing real to me. Thanks for the collaboration.

  2. rebyosil says:

    What about: He who sits on hot stove is bound to rise again. Professor Irwin Corey

  3. acharlese says:

    I really like 6, 10 and 17. I am curious the meaning behind 24.

    One of my favorite quotes:
    “A quarrelsome wife is as annoying as constant dripping on a rainy day. Stopping her complaints is like trying to stop the wind or trying to hold something with greased hands.” Solomon

  4. binah bindell says:

    Some great quotes. I especially liked #’s:
    6,7,9,10,11,14,17,18,21,29.
    The quotes from JFK, are great. I have read the first one, and shared it many times.
    I love a great quote. Wonderful wisdom in so few words.
    Thanks,
    Binah

    If you want to see some great quotes I like, request to friend me on FB, I will accept
    and you can see them when you look into info about me.

  5. VeronicaLHayes says:

    Thanks for posting these Benji! Shabbat Shalom!

  6. Harold says:

    27 makes no sense (“affect mode”?) and appears to be an illiterate attempt at restating a cliche
    (#11 also a common saying, but at least Flea doesn’t come off as an idiot)

    • Benji says:

      Harold,
      Thank you for pointing out the grammatical error. It should have been written as “effective mode”. I will write my Dyslexia tutor in my ESL class and let them know I’m still imperfect and have to work on it. And Flea says thanks for not calling him an idiot.

    • HW McCrakin says:

      Harold, stop being a douche. Did I spell that right?

    • Stephen Szajna says:

      If I was talking about velvet gloves and iron fists I must have been referring to how much joy I derive from pointing out common spelling errors on my students tests so that I can hold them up for public ridicule. But seriously Benji, this is more proof that malapropisms are seldom as effective as even the iron fist in the velvet glove when conveying a point. Finally, since I am apparently illiterate, I’m grateful that I bought this trained rhesus monkey to do my typing for me!

  7. trybean says:

    There seems to be more effective ways to add to this great conversation Benji started than Harold’s initial comment. I’d love to hear about one of the quotes Harold liked. Like many others here I have to call out #17. So great. Excellent list Benji and I am honored to be on it.

  8. joe stanley says:

    Awesome list Benji!!! I love your spelling errors!!! You know this 🙂

  9. Cyndi says:

    wonderful list, Benji– all just what I needed to read this week– especially love Ghandi– be the change you would like to see in the world……..

  10. Benji needs a Hello Kitty backpack!

  11. rebyosil says:

    Common Benji don’t take this to heart, you were born in a foreign country on the other side of the world, speak at least two languages and can’t spell in either. At least you’re consistent.

  12. tweet-worthy? says:

    B, it wasn’t a typo; you quoted someone who doesn’t know the difference between “affect” and “effect,” but that is totally understandable, especially if they are ESL like you.
    Don’t beat yourself up over it.

    The bigger issue is misattributing the source of your quotes. Hendrix, Flea, Cobain (yes, even the “affect mode” guy) obviously did not create the quotes you attribute to them. When you make mistakes on the internet, people notice. Sometimes they point it out, sometimes they don’t and just regard you as uninformed. Ultimately it is up to you what you want to post and how you wish to present yourself. So feel free to use this:

    “Walk softly and carry a big stick” Bono (he said that to me personally)

    Just kidding————-good luck and don’t be so gullible!

    • Benji says:

      1) No, That was my typo, Steve doesn’t make mistakes in English… now Polish is a completely different story.

      2) as far as misquoting… These are the people that I heard it from. If someone said it before flea, then I was clearly late to the party.

      3) good advice on not caring… but ya know –

      4) Bono is a wise man.

  13. Joey says:

    1) The same guy who misuses “malapropisms” above? Umm, okay.
    2) agreed, lots of mistakes re authorship of quotes but who cares?
    3) yep, I know
    4) Pretty sure Bono ripped that off–from The Edge!

    Back on topic, I like quotes 9, 10 & 17 the best :>)

Leave a comment